I Am Thankful

Remember to give thanksI am so thankful.

This has not been the best year for us.  The journey has seemed long.  We are far apart.  But gosh, I am so very thankful.  And I don’t want to forget that, ever.   Today, I want to see the big picture more than I want to wallow in the small details.  When I look around, I don’t see any other lives that I would rather have.  I am grateful for mine.

How could I NOT be thankful for cute little faces like these …

AllyLindsay

… and for handsome, stand-by-your-side faces like these?

Chris

Henry

I am ever -hankful for my family and my friends, who have been an enormous source of love and support.  I shudder to think what things would be like without them.  You know who you are.  You are loved and appreciated by me every day.

For my very happy marriage of 13 years.  Chrissy, if we can get through this, we can get through anything!

And for our top-notch school district, for educating my children and helping them to be all they can be (even if I do complain about the homework).

And for our church, for allowing us to serve, even though we are not perfect parishioners by any means.

For my home, my neighbors and my neighborhood. What a nice place to live.

For family vacations and the cherished memories that go along with them.

I am employed, let’s not forget to be thankful about that.

I am thankful to have a Thanksgiving celebration to attend with my nearest and dearest.  And heck, for turkey, stuffing, pumpkin pie and a nice glass of wine.

And for my country.

I am thankful for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, too.  I unabashedly love watching it with my kids and a great cup of coffee every year.

And you know what else I am thankful for?  The fact that I am neither too proud, nor too cynical, nor too jaded to be thankful on this special day.  

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!  Got a “thankful” to add?  I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “I Am Thankful

  1. Pingback: A Family Photo when Someone is Missing | Bridging the Distance

Leave a Reply

